MS SQL Server 2005 SP3 Cumulative Hotfix (KB970892) – PAINFULL

What a pain!  Last Tuesday, 2009-10-13, Microsoft released a whole bunch of patches, my computer apparently needed 19 (?!) security patches.  One of them failed dramatically, and I’ve spent the last two weeks trying to get this security patch to install.  This is “MS SQL Server 2005 SP3 Cumulative Hotfix (KB970892)”, and I can not believe how difficult this has been to install.

My first approach was just to download the hotfix separately from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=0d878f4b-71e8-4170-9a14-1bce684811ce&displaylang=en

I’m running Vista Ultimate x64, so I downloaded the x64 version.  However, when I selected my database “MSSMLBIX – SQL Server Database Services 2005” the details section says that:

Setup cannot update SQL Server Database Services 2005 x86 on this computer. To proceed, run the Hotfix Setup program for the x86 platform instead.

(Which is odd, because later I tried a re-install of SQL Server Express 2005 and I could ONLY run the x64 bit version).   So I dutifully downloaded the x86 version of the KB970892 hotfix.  Here’s a video of the results:

Sigh.

Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
Application Name:           hotfix.exe
Application Version:       1.4.1572.0
Application Timestamp:  4919b4d5
Fault Module Name:      StackHash_e52f
Fault Module Version:   0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception code:                c0000005
Exception Offset:             002d002d
Additional information 1:              e52f

The knowledge base article had links to a number of suggestions, such as setting ALL SQL Server windows services to start up automatically, however that didn’t work for me.

VERY BAD Microsoft Support

So yesterday, I finally called Microsoft Support at 1-866-PCSAFETY and I spent from 11am until 4:30pm on the phone!  Fortunately I just put them on speaker phone and worked on my laptop, but it was still an unbelievably frustrating experience!  First I talked with Lance, but after about 30 minutes the call was cut off and I was left with a dial tone.  I waited for about 20 minutes but he never called back.

Then I talked with Angie (who seemed to be much more persistent and friendly), and after trying a bunch of stuff (some of it the same as Lance) she transferred me to Ruchi, who seemed to be slightly more knowledgeable.  Ruchi  tried to uninstall SQL Server 2008.  The SQL Server 2005 instance that’s running on my machine was installed with Microsoft Office Small Business, and I’ve also installed SQL Server 2008 express as part of my development environment.   Unfortunately most of the SQL Server 2008 stuff failed to uninstall half way through the uninstall; she had also renamed a bunch of directories (c:\windows\SoftwareDistribution and c:\windows\system32\catroot), and run a few batch files that changed directory permissions to “Everybody” so that when the call was disconnected (!) my machine was left in a very indeterminate/messy state!!  All the calls (obviously to somewhere very far away) had very bad connections, and the line was full of static, crackles and pops and I could barely hear them and they could barely hear me, so I’m not terribly surprised that these calls kept being disconnected, except that I didn’t have a case number and now I had a computer in a really bad state.   What was (slightly) amusing is that they all kept saying, “is your phone okay, it seems to be bad” – how strange that if I call anybody in Canada or the USA my phone seems just fine…

Anyway, about an hour after that call was disconnected another gentleman called me and asked me a bunch of questions and had no interest in using Microsoft Easy Assist to connect to my computer (he actually trusted me).  However he finally gave up and suggested I try the paid SQL Server support team’s support.  It doesn’t seem “right” to pay for help fixing the mess their support people created on my computer trying to fix a security fix that they wrote that apparently lots of other people are having problems with!

Trying myself (again)

So I thought about the problem for a while, and decided to uninstall SQL Server 2005 – I haven’t used the small-business side of Office for a while, and I secretly wondered if it might not connect to a (repaired) SQL Server 2008 instance instead.  Unfortunately  I couldn’t uninstall SQL Server 2005, because it said there was a registry problem.

So instead I decided to re-install SQL Server 2005, and I downloaded it from here: http://www.microsoft.com/Sqlserver/2005/en/us/express-down.aspx

I figured after my previous experience with the hot fix installer that I needed the x86 version, but that wouldn’t install so I downloaded the x64 version and that installed just fine.

Then Windows Update said it successfully installed the update!  Unfortunately, after rebooting and asking Windows Update to “Check for Updates” it found “MS SQL Server 2005 SP3 Cumulative Hotfix” again!!  Sigh.

So I then installed the KB update that I had downloaded again (the x86 one that crashed in the video above) and it worked!!    This time there was two instances of the database present, the SQL Express version which the hot fix installed indicated was already updated, but the MSSMLBIX version was “Upgradable”.  The update didn’t crash, and everything seemed to be working.  I rebooted the computer and did another Windows Update and it immediately said that 1 important update was available – the same one!!  Wow, this is almost impossible to fix!

I now just found now found this on Google:  http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/sqlexpress/thread/c7d0a234-763b-4f9c-b7ec-3a40df6340a8.  I decided to try their suggestion (voted on by several people) of the Microsoft Installer cleanup utility to remove ALL SQL installation files and then running the update again:  http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301

I used this tool to remove the following:

Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition [9.3.4035.00] (I had two copies of this?  I removed both – in hindsight maybe removing just one would have been best)

Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Tools Express Edition [9.3.4035.00]

Microsoft SQL Server Native Client [9.00.4035.00]

Microsoft SQL Server Setup Support Files (English) [9.00.4035.00]

So I tried running the update from Windows Update (as recommended in the blog post), and that seemed to work.  Unfortunately after I rebooted and it STILL had 1 important security update!!  Sigh.

Apparently this also broke Office, because Office now has to “install” and re-configure itself.  It’s now done this twice and it still won’t start.  I now get the error message, “Microsoft Office Word has not been installed for the current user.  Please run setup to install the application”:

Microsoft Office Word has not been installed for the current user.  Please run setup to install the application

Microsoft Office Word has not been installed for the current user. Please run setup to install the application

I popped in  my MS-Office 2007 DVD and clicked “Repair”, but unfortunately even that failed!

So I decided to try and re-install SQL Server 2005.  Unfortunately, now I get the error:

Error 1603 installing Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Setup Support Files.

So after fighting with that bug for a while I’ve decided to buy a 1TB drive (I was getting low on space anyway) and reinstall Windows.  This SUCKS!!!

 

2009-10-31:  Update

I just received this nice little form e-mail from Microsoft support.

Dear Robert,

Thank you very much for your reply. I’m glad to hear that the issue is resolved. It was a pleasure working with you and I hope you will continue to enjoy using our products.

We always strive to provide a high level of support to our customers and hope you are satisfied with the entire process of this service request. If there is anything you are not satisfied with, please don’t hesitate to let us know. Your feedback is very valuable in helping us to improve our service process and quality. Our goal is to provide first class customer service to you. We do our best to keep improving our Service Level.

At the same time, I have some tips for you if Windows Update issues are encountered in the future.

1: Windows Update issues can be temporarily. We can try restarting the computer to test if the is the issue is solved.

2: When Windows Update issues are encountered, it’s best to try suggestions given by the website first, because these suggestions are most often found to resolve the issue.

3: If one update fails, we can try manually downloading it from Microsoft Download Center: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/Search.aspx?displaylang=en

I also would like to share more resources. Please check the Microsoft Knowledge Base, which provides a wealth of information that you can use to troubleshoot an issue or answer a question:

Search the Support Knowledge Base:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/242450

http://support.microsoft.com/search

Another good resource is Microsoft Newsgroups:

http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsgroups/default.mspx

Based on the current status, I will go ahead and close the case. If you need further assistance from me, please feel free to send emails directly to srxmail@css.one.microsoft.com with the Case ID in the subject line. This issue will then be reactivated for me to follow up with immediately. I appreciate the opportunity to be of assistance.

Your satisfaction to my overall service is my first priority.

Again, thank you for using Microsoft Online Support Service.

Have a nice day.

Best Regards,

 

6 comments so far

  1. KMB on

    Pretty similar experience here, although I have not made any calls to support yet! I stopped all SQL services and then forced the 970892 install, and it told me it succeeded, but it continues to pop up every time I restart. How MS can push this crap out is unbelievable, and I shouldn’t say anything because I work for them. All I want to do at this point is make it stop. If anyone has a solution please post. I have 2005 and 2008 instances, plus a 2005 express instance installed by Visual Studio 2005. I suspect the express instance is the culprit.

    • Rudi Gabler on

      I experienced the same. Upgrade logs show the SQL 2005 SP3 hotfix KB970892 as successful, but after any reboot it is indicated as a neede important upgrade. After several attemps (each successful) I gave up.

      • robertmccarter on

        Hopefully this post was useful! Do you have SQL Server 2005 and 2008 installed?
        My re-install process is now complete, and my computer is faster than ever (because I only re-installed a fraction of the stuff I had on here originally!)

  2. Alan Tamm on

    Hello,

    The problems with (WU) patching mixed architecture/version SQL server instances are nothing new to me neither. The keyword here is of course “mixed”. It usually helps downloading version specific patch(es) and applying one by one.

    For the current KB970892 problem I had on a WinXP x64 ed OS and 32bit SQL server with Advanced services (instance name MSSQLSERVER for compatibility reasons) 9.3.4035.00 (SP3 applied) the solution was to find out which instance has the databases, then remove the ones/components not needed:
    1. VS2008 installed SQL Server 2005 Express (32-bit)
    2. SQL server 2005 Standard edition Tools (32-bit:)

    Now since it’s not supported to run setup.exe itself (you have to use appwiz.cpl and since the remaining instance was updated to latest SP (3) and for some reason the maintenance failed as the installer version was not compatible with the newer version installed I was able to:

    a. Click Change on Microsoft SQL server 2005 in Add or Remove programs
    b. Select Instance name radio button, next
    c. Click To install a new component, click here.
    d. In “Insert Installation Media” point to the freshly downloaded (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=65109) and extracted “setup.exe” (This one is SP3 slipstreamed by MS I guess — I mean you can slipstream the needed SP probably yourself if the media is not readily available for download etc).
    e. Once in installer maintenance mode uncheck! “Hide Advanced feature checkbox” and select missing components (in my case Workstation Components, Full text search etc)
    f. Use Windows Update (In IE) to check for updates and apply the KB970892 (this time it worked out OK).

    Successful Updates
    Microsoft SQL Server 2005
    Security Update for SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 3 (KB970892)

    Lets hope Automatic updates service finds that there’s no patches needed (after the reboot 🙂

    Note that the installer still does not show the Workstation components installed, but setup when run indicates there’s nothing else to install (since all componendts are installed)

    Just a quick howto partly from memory hopefully useful to someone who finds this page through Google (as I did;) who possibly has the same issue where Automatic Updates service stops the SQL server again and again after fail, fail, ..

    Have fun!

  3. […] a full 6 days after I bought a new hard drive after I decided to reformat my C:  (see  https://robertmccarter.wordpress.com/2009/10/22/ms-sql-server-2005-sp3-cumulative-hotfix-kb970892-pai… for all the gory […]

  4. Jeff Ruby on

    This solved my problem:

    From:

    http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsgroups/en-us/default.aspx?dg=microsoft.public.windowsupdate&tid=d4323b80-eb6b-4c36-b7a5-95eebd24836f&cat=en_us_56d1dd45-de9e-4fc5-9bc1-2d1d0de6daee&lang=en&cr=us&sloc=&p=1

    A little ways down the page.

    Peter Saddow [Microsoft] 7/10/2008 9:14 PM PST

    You receive this error when the previous upgrade has not completed
    successfully. If you view the log at %programfiles%\Microsoft SQL
    Server\90\Setup Bootstrap\Log\Hotfix\summary.txt you can get the instance
    with the issue. The message would be: “SQL Server Setup cannot upgrade the
    specified instance because the previous upgrade did not complete. Start the
    Remote Registry service and go to Add/Remove Programs, select the Change
    button for Microsoft SQL Server 2005, and then select SQL instance [2] and
    complete the setup.”

    Follow the instructions in the message.

    Thanks,
    Peter Saddow [Microsoft]

    This worked for me.


Leave a Reply

